Skip to content

Turn Left

August 27, 2009
Sun light from AboveWithin the first minute outside my front door, I know whether it’s going to be a good day. Just as soon as I slide into my car and pull out of my gravel driveway, I’ll know.
 
I know this not because there are street signs telling me so or because someone has left me little gifts in my yard. But, I do know if I have to turn left because the sun is shining too brightly from the right… It’s going to be a good day.
 
And today was one of those days. I couldn’t see my neighbors house because of the piercing white light in between. And there’s something about the sunshine that suddenly leads you to believe that you can do anything. That you can change the writings from all of history.
 
Today, I thought that I could change this town. This renewed energy sent from lightyears away arrived on my street today. And it made me believe. That today could be different from every day before.
 
Today, I stepped a little firmer. I combed against the part in my hair.
 
Today, I took the longest route to work and parked in the farthest spot from the door.
 
I breathed a little deeper and listened more than i spoke. I sang a song out loud in my cubicle and laughed just a little bit louder too.
 
I shared my hidden pack of highlighters and took notes for the entire team.
 
I told the smiling cashier at the gas station that I liked her in front of the entire line of straight-faced people.
 
Today, I believed. I believed that today could be different from every day before. People may say the little things don’t matter. But some days the little things are everything, and that’s why I believe. That little things can change everything and today can be different from yesterday.
 
Today, I believed as soon as I had to turn left. And because of this, today was different.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Angelia Sims permalink
    August 27, 2009 5:52 pm

    Wow! I love this day. 🙂

  2. Sony Hua permalink
    August 28, 2009 2:03 pm

    beautiful writing i must say 🙂

Leave a Reply

