Skip to content

I might be crazy. But that’s okay.

September 24, 2009

844pmClockIt’s 8:44pm. And I’m at work. As I sit here waiting for my software to load on my computer, I decide to check my blog. Under my last entry I see two comments replying to my last post. I had asked ‘what I should write about next?’ and I had 2 votes for motivation.

It’s 8:46pm now. And I’m at work. I got here at 8am. In between the hours of 8am and 8pm, I left once to grab McDonald’s, one block away, and bring it back to my desk to continue working. I’ll clock over 10 hours each day this week. Each week I’ll spend more hours inside these working walls then inside the walls of my house. So, as I sit here, still waiting for my software to load, I begin thinking…

Am I crazy? What motivates me to do this to myself? And now I’m supposed to write about motivation? haha, perhaps I’m laughing to keep from crying.

Without knowing me, most people would probably say yes, ‘he is crazy’ to work tttthhhhat much. But these people don’t know me. It’s not necessarily that I’m sane, but that I’m happy. People that know me well know that I love my job. Well, as much as you can love a job. I am passionate about what I do. If I wasn’t, I wouldn’t work here. I don’t think my work is the point of life, but I look forward to coming into work every day.

My point is this: We spend our time where our passions lie. I think that you can tell a lot about a person’s motivations by how they use their time. [I think it does vary based on personalities, but in general this seems to hold true in my experience.]

We all make time for our passions. Of course some of us have more material resources than others of us, some of us have more connections/networks, but there is one thing that is equally shared by all of us. We all have 24 hours in our day, 7 days in our week, 52 weeks in our year. But what we do with our time is decided by us. The key to balance is not making more time, since we’ll never be able to make our days or weeks longer. The key is to figure out what motivates you and spend your time there developing your passion.

StruggleWhat is that one thing that keeps you from going to bed every night? Is it your relationships? Your desire to help others? The design of your next building?  The next place you’ll travel? What are these things that motivate you to stay awake, to work hard, to be excited? Spend your time on these things. Not on the mundane things that people say you have to do. When you live and work out of a passion, you will find a way to make anything happen. If you live and work just because you have to, you’ll find each day a struggle.

Check out this Life without Pants post by Matt… it’ll make you want to start your own business if you haven’t already.

What’s your passion?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 7:18 pm

    You are so true…. Its like you are saying my thoughts but only that our condition is totally opposite…. You do what you like and I do what I don’t ………..

  2. September 25, 2009 4:33 pm

    Pretty sure you just put into words how I feel about my job search… and how I’m using this time to sort through my own passions and motivation so that I can pursue something that I will LOVE doing at least most days.

    PS – you’re not crazy.

  3. September 26, 2009 12:19 pm

    Great post! I think there definitely is a difference between passion and motive, and that most people work with a motive but not with passion. You’ve got it right though and it’s true what they say “passionate people produce” probably because of what you say “We all make time for our passions”. So that must mean that passionate people are doing the right thing that serves their motive!

    I am passionate about love and the creativity it breeds. I know it sounds silly, but it’s what I see and look for in every aspect of my life and around me. I know when I am close to it. It can be in a beautiful photo, an art-gallery, in the crowd of a music show, on a street in a foreign country, when I am eating a delicately prepared dish, that effort, that can only be a proof of passion.

    Stay crazy in love with your job 😉

  4. September 28, 2009 3:07 pm

    Hey!
    Yup was undergoing a layout change, finally got something that fits my need. It’s never easy finding an appropriate layout!

    Zach

  5. September 28, 2009 5:20 pm

    And I like that the future is clear with many options but sometimes too many options becomes mind boggling and seems to weigh me down.
    I also get stressed about whether I am heading in the right way, and if possibly another path was the one that I was supposed to take… but so far this path has provided me with a lot of knowledge and life experience.. so that’s a plus.

    Ps. sorry for the double-post, the first was a reply to your post on mine, and this is a reply to your actual blog post!

Leave a Reply

