Skip to content

I got a new t-shirt.

October 20, 2009
CreativityisRecessionProofI don’t normally buy new tees going into the fall season. But I just found this one, and I couldn’t resist. In case you can’t read it, it says:
Creativity is recession proof.
Can I get an ‘Amen’?

I’m all for keeping up with current events. I think it’s often times vital to make progress, but I’m feeling a little worn down by all the recessionism talks. Yeah, I know we are in a recession; we all know that. But maybe we need to close our mouths and open our minds more often right now. There are many people that have done just that. It’s amazing the solutions we can discover when our futures depend upon it.
Can our creativity actually be more powerful than our money? Can our  fear of losing our jobs work to save the already jobless and the homeless? Will losing our possessions remove the barriers we’ve created between ourselves?
Perhaps only the future will show how we reacted during this time. But I believe that we can work as a whole to make this time beneficial.
A former boss once described to me the only difference between a stunt man and dead man. When a regular man falls from a great height, he will fight with every ounce of his energy to stop the fall until the fall is finished and so is he. A stunt man, on the other hand, when he falls he immediately begins to prepare for his landing. He doesn’t fight the fall, but makes it graceful. I think we can take a lot from this. Are we dead men or are we stunt men? Are we going to fight this fall until it breaks our bones? Or are we preparing to land and show grace during this time?
And all that from a t-shirt.
Speaking of which… I happen to have an extra of this shirt in large. It was on clearance, and I wanted to share a good find. It’s never been worn, and I can attest to mine being very thin and comfy. If it’s too big, just sleep in it. Who wants it? Just leave me a comment telling me about your favorite t-shirt… and I’ll pick the winner at random!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 12:08 am

    Hey, you can always wear long sleeves under it and wear it year round!

    I’m not really trying to win it or anything b/c I’m sure someone else might need it more, but I do also love it when I find really awesome shirts! (Like my penguin shirt I had on that one time at Live on the Green.)

  2. October 28, 2009 4:24 am

    My thoughts on how the creative process is life changing is too long and possibly boring to post here. But I think you may have a point.

  3. November 7, 2009 6:32 pm

    Lovin the new tee.

  4. Fengyi permalink
    November 26, 2009 11:47 am

    I cried when UO ran out of stock
    i even googled the shirt to this blog
    i’m just happy to see the shirt ❤

Leave a Reply

