Skip to content

She Makes Me Believe

October 28, 2009

[And welling up inside of me is a faith that it’s all going to be okay.]

Some days, I have my doubts. Then, I listen.
To hear her story after all that she’s been through.
Makes me believe that I, too, can survive anything.
She is a survivor. She is beautiful.
Not because she has beaten her cancer, although that is beautiful
But because she did it with such grace that only few can imagine on normal days.

Some days, I am terrified. Then, I open my eyes.
To see him still standing there across the room.
Makes me believe that I, too, can survive anything.
He has beaten the odds, he is inspiring.
Because he never let the criticism of others count him out.
Nor did he let others define who he is.

Some days, I’d rather not get out of bed. Then, I feel the warmth.
To know that life is short, yet full of living.
Makes me believe that I can do anything.
These people all around me, they keep me believing.
Not because they know their influence,
But because they don’t let anything get in the way of living.

Indie Arie sings it well:

I wonder, I wonder if you really knew that I see God in you. And I wonder if you can see, how much you mean to me. I know that you cannot read my mind, but I hope you feel my vibe. I think it’s time I let you know that I see God in you. 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 29, 2009 3:06 am

    Those are the teachers around us, don’t you think? Those that inspire the voice, that really is our own, telling us that since he or she is brilliant and strong, then so am I, even if we feel it is only with a fragment of their grace. I often think of people that have dared to commit to their passion; rock stars, athlets, teachers, everyday artists…and I know it takes courage and probably some sacrifice to keep persuing a dream, to keep pushing against a goal. And maybe they don’t even realize in our eyes, they have already succeded.

    This was a great post as always Ben. Have a beautiful day over there (and yes, I slept really well in my satin sheets ) 😉

Leave a Reply

