Skip to content

24. My Life is Yours.

November 25, 2009

24 is a symbolic number.

It’sย an age. My age this year. But it’s also the number of hours in a day. It’s Kobe Bryant’s jersey number. And the former one for Willie Mays. It’s the number of carats in pure gold and the number of points on a backgammon board. It’s Keifer Sutherland’s TV show and an interstate that runs through my home state. In Cantonese, it’s unlucky (like the number 13 here).ย And in Christian literature, it’s the ‘complete’ number, a number of faith.

24 is a lot of things. In the same way, I feel like this year has been a lot of things for me as well, and Thanksgiving offers some reflection time for me. Here’s what I am thankful for in my 24th year.

I am thankful for those fighting to end homelessness. But I am just as thankful for the homeless and their will to fight circumstance.

I am thankful for my inability to sing or hear any type of melody. And I’m more thankful for those that make meย feel the melody when they sing it.

I am thankful to be able to travel to new places often. I am thankful to have a hometown in Nashville.

I am thankful for new friends and new connections with the old.

I am thankful for the perishables which I often forget will soon perish.

I am thankful for my paycut that makes me realize that it’s not really about the money.

I am thankful to be rejected so that I can appreciate others that have been rejected.

Most of all, I am thankful for this journey and for each person by my side along the way. It’s really them that my life belongs to.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Queer Engineer permalink
    November 26, 2009 1:57 am

    What a great list of things to be thankful for. I’m working on my own as I write this. And please, don’t remind me of the 24 thing. I’m coming up on 24 in less than a month. I have so much of my life to look forward to, but it will all pass in the blink of an eye.

    • Queer Engineer permalink
      November 26, 2009 2:00 am

      BTW, my theme for my Thanksgiving Day post was going to be 24… perhaps now I will put a different twist on it.

      • November 27, 2009 11:45 am

        haha, sorry about writing ’24’ first. i’m looking forward to reading yours too though! and 24 is not bad, you should look forward to a good year.

  2. November 26, 2009 6:50 pm

    Wonderful, this Thanksgiving spreading around like sparkles over our faces, making us truly understand what gratefulness is all about.

    Thank you for sharing!

    • November 27, 2009 11:46 am

      Helen – your posts are always grateful and inspiring. i should be more like that year round. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Courtney permalink
    November 28, 2009 1:10 am

    you are absolutely, truly amazing. thanks for the inspiration. there is so much to be thankful for.

    • November 29, 2009 11:00 am

      you are too kind, Courtney. thank you. and you’re absolutely right that we have much to be thankful for.

  4. November 30, 2009 10:58 pm

    Excellent post Ben!

    Except 13 is not unlucky… I was born on a Friday the 13th!

    • November 30, 2009 11:00 pm

      so was my sister actually!! but some buildings don’t have a 13th floor in the us, just like some buildings in china don’t have a 24th floor… weird how superstitions can shape the building of a skyscraper!

  5. December 10, 2009 1:15 am

    I really, really like your perspective on life.

    And you write really, really well too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Trackbacks

  1. Goodbye Oh Nine, Hello Twenty Ten. « Her Name Was Grace.

Leave a Reply

