Skip to content

Life is in the Waiting

December 6, 2009

47 minutes ’til takeoff.

46 minutes ’til takeoff.

{stomach growls}

45 minutes ’til takeoff.

Okay, I’ve got enough time to run to BlueCoast, get a burrito, and get back to the gate, in time to wait.

I’m one of those people that has to be early, like real early for things like this. If I’m less than 30 minutes early, I’m late. I like the waiting. And I spend a lot of life in waiting. In wondering. In preparing. 

Waiting, wondering, preparing for what life’s gonna be like when my flight arrives where I’m going. This is when I reflect best on life. When I have time to catch up on reading or writing or people watching. But sometimes it ends up that the flight never takes off. Sometimes it’s delayed. And sometimes it departs early, whether I’m on it or not. What I’ve learned is that life is just as much in the waiting as in the arrival.

Waiting makes us keep working, brushing up on our skills, trying to become better and better. It makes us find new hobbies and find new friends.

Football players wait 8 months, to play for 4. In hopes of eventually playing on the first Sunday night in February just once during their maybe decade-long career. Most of their careers are spent in the waiting. Waiting can’t equal doing nothing, or they will never see that Sunday night in February. They’ll never see that big shiny ring that usually only exists in their dreams.

UnEmployees wait perhaps a year, searching for a job that won’t lay them off the next time around. They spend a lot of time thinking about what working is really all about. Is it the income or is it passion? Only the waiting will tell. 

Boys and girls, men and women wait a few decades, to live in harmony for hopefully many more. They spend years upon years early on in life experiencing love and heartache. They are forced to learn the hard way. Trial and error. Waiting. Wondering. Preparing. For the real thing. So that when it comes along, they’ll know. And they won’t be forced to wait anymore. 

But, if it weren’t for the waiting, none of us would ever arrive. Waiting creates us. Because most of life is spent in the waiting.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2009 4:14 pm

    Personally, I’m not a fan of waiting, because I’m such an impatient person. I’m as close to on time as I can be, but I live in a world of people who refuse to be anywhere on time…

    I wish I could adopt an attitude like yours about waiting, though. I don’t know if I’d call it “healthy”, but its cool that you’re ok with it.

    • December 6, 2009 4:44 pm

      Thanks for your comment, Stacie. I still wouldn’t necessarily call myself a patient person, and I’m definitely not ALWAYS on time. What I was trying to hint at is that the preparation is just as important as the moment of success. And in my opinion it is, therefore i find the waiting to be essential. 🙂

  2. December 6, 2009 9:43 pm

    I really like this! Waiting. There’s a song by the Shiny Toy Guns called Waiting and everytime i listen to it, it feels just like this. The moments before everything, the moments that seem to occupy most of the time rather than being ‘there’- wherever ‘there’ is for you. I am with you on this. I appreciate the wait too. For me, i call it the in-betweens.

    • December 6, 2009 10:07 pm

      i don’t know this song, so i will have to look it up. and the in-betweens is a good way to put it! thanks for sharing!

  3. December 7, 2009 2:30 am

    So true. I have to remind myself when I feel impatient about the waiting for love thing that the waiting is just as important to it all as the actual point where you get what you’ve been waiting for all along. The waiting shapes us.

    • December 10, 2009 10:29 am

      i know, it’s one of those easier said than done posts 🙂
      i seem to have plenty of those.

  4. December 9, 2009 5:46 pm

    I have to be early. It’s not that I enjoy the waiting it’s that I can’t stand being late.

    It’s not the destination, it’s the journey theory? A pretty good one.

  5. December 10, 2009 1:12 am

    I really like this post, definitely puts “waiting” into perspective. It’s a hard place to be… waiting for something, but looking back, I guess we’re ALWAYS waiting on something. And it’s during these times that we come to find who we really are and what we’re made of.

    Thoughtful post, I love it.

    • December 10, 2009 10:30 am

      thanks for stopping by and reading Ema-Leigh! glad you liked this post.

Leave a Reply

