Skip to content

When We’re Together, I am Better.

January 5, 2010

And I was already at 2.3 miles when I realized it.

I’ve always wanted to be runner. Not bad enough to do it, but enough to feel guilty for not trying. I’m not talking about being a marathoner, I’d be satisified with any type of regular running schedule. Perhaps it’s because of my body type and knowing that I’ll never be a weightlifter… but wanting to exercise somehow. However, in my experience, running one mile indoors on a treadmill or track has always made me feel like I was going to have to crawl out of the Y and into my deathbed afterwards. Whoever said running releases endorphines in your brain, obviously had a more willing brain than me.

There’s something terribly hard about challenging yourself to do something you don’t believe that you can do. And it’s seemingly impossible to do it by yourself.

Maybe this just my perception, but I realized it in my own life very recently. A good friend of mine asked me to run with her. Outside. In 30-degree weather. For 2.5 miles. I was thinking ‘Ughh’. Which I voiced as ‘Okay’!

This is when you runners will laugh at me. But, that’s okay. I respect your discipline after being nearly beaten to a pulp by my own legs. Somehow, I found the energy to run with her. Outside. In 30-degree weather. For 2.5 miles. Three times now. And the best part is that I have felt good after these runs.

There’s something magically compelling when you face a challenge with a friend. Together you may decide that you can do more than you even imagined.

I’ve always heard that two heads are better than one. And I understand that. It’s logical that more people can do more things. But the most surprising part to me is this:

I, myself, can do more when working together with others. Sharing passion makes my own personal passion only grow.

If each of us can only run 1 mile on our own, but together we each run 2.5. Then 1 + 1 can equal 5. This is why we’re better together.


9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2010 1:57 pm

    So true. I mean, who know I could run marathons? Certainly not me.

    Your body is more amazing than you could ever imagine, and adding another person to that only makes you even more amazing.

    Love it.

    • January 7, 2010 3:04 pm

      i’m feeling a team run soon! first i gots to get up to your level though!!

  2. Queer Engineer permalink
    January 5, 2010 9:51 pm

    So many times in my life I have found that I can overcome challenges when I am not alone. I would say there are two reasons for that: 1) you have someone to encourage you to run to the end, 2) you have companionship with someone who helps take your mind off the challenge at hand. Whether that be taking a run in the most horrid of conditions or when life throws in a surprise.

  3. Courtney permalink
    January 7, 2010 12:37 am

    This is a terribly cheesy response to a wonderful, thought provoking post, but I got the new Brad Paisley record for Christmas and there’s this song that goes:

    It takes two to make love, baby
    I’m sure of that
    You’re one, I’m one
    You do the math.

    You just reminded me of that, is all.
    Silly.

    Otherwise, yes, I love the connection you drew. I do some amazing thinking while I’m running, too, only I usually forget it all by the time I’m immobile in front of a computer again πŸ™‚

    • January 7, 2010 3:03 pm

      haha. Don’t you hate with you have an epiphany, but then lose it before you can capture that feeling on paper?? i sure do.

  4. January 7, 2010 2:47 pm

    As for the treadmill: They don’t call it the “dreadmill” for nothing…just sayin.

    Also? You can run any distance you want. I’ve learned running is more mental toughness than physical anything.

    • January 7, 2010 3:02 pm

      I hope you’re right!! (As I have a feeling you are.) I never thought I’d say this, but I’m going to try and push myself to finish the Country Music Half Marathon in April. eeek. Most of all, I know I’m going to need to be pushed by my running buddy πŸ™‚

  5. January 13, 2010 2:23 pm

    I couldn’t have said it better myself. Welcome to my world. πŸ™‚ And if you decide to go for the half, you know I’ll be here to encourage you every step of the way. You might could even convince me to run it with you.

Leave a Reply

