Skip to content

You Can’t.

July 20, 2010

You can’t really know just how much you love someone,
Until you’ve been told you can’t.

You can’t entirely appreciate freedom,
Until you’ve been made a prisoner.

You can’t fully express in words,
Until you’ve felt it in your heart.

You can’t truly comprehend what’s possible,
Until you’ve exceeded it.

I have hope for the future,
that we will no longer hear:
You can’t.

Because
No one really cares,
Until it affects them.
Until it prohibits them
from living their own life.
And then they feel,
everyone should care
Just as much.

But how can you convince them
before
That your war, though tough
Is worth every single moment of battle.

Every drip of sweat
Every drop of tears and of blood
Earns us closer
To a life more just.

When I was pushed to the ground,
You fell with me.
When I loved deeply,
You found peace in my love.
When I lived in joy,
You celebrated with me.

So, I will not continue standing,
while you are pushed to the ground.
I will not continue loving them,
while they tell you, you can’t.
I will not continue living here,
while they tell you to get out.

You are every bit as human as me.
Though you are not so free.
God created man for love,
Not to be the judge.
Rest assured knowing
It is to no man,
that’ll you answer
When all is said and done.

Keep telling your story,
Especially when no one wants to hear.
Keep paving roads
through this off-road terrain.
And one day, your story
will make the way for thousands more.

Your love
Will open hearts.
Your time in this prison
Will set free millions.
Your words
Will flow into hearts.
Your actions
Will redefine what’s possible.

Now I’ve come to the realization
I can’t really know just how much I love someone,
Until I’ve been told I can’t.
I can’t entirely appreciate freedom,
Until I’ve been made a prisoner.
I can’t fully express in words,
Until I’ve felt it with my heart.
I can’t truly comprehend what’s possible,
Until it’s been exceeded.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

