Skip to content

Freedom through Paint

July 31, 2010

I haven’t been writing this week because I’ve been painting. Sometimes my feelings, thoughts, and struggles are easier to express in paint than they are through words. So, below are my very first entries into a Nashville art show contest. I have no idea of knowing whether they’ll actually be accepted into the show especially given the overt personal spiritual statements that I provided with each one. But, they are complete, and the entry is in the mail! I feel great, like I have done all that I can do and, if nothing else, there’s a good piece of my struggles that have been released into the works.




I would love to know your thoughts/feedback on the work if you have an opinion.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 31, 2010 4:59 pm

    Love the 2 and 6. The 1 and 5 however could have been more playful. A 30 degree angle to the tower, a slight perspective and maybe a fade to the lines could have done the trick. Otherwise nice. Good luck with the contest!

    • July 31, 2010 5:07 pm

      thanks so much for your input, i’m always looking to make my work better and better. and i can tell from your site that you know a lot about art (way more than me!). so your help is much appreciated!

  2. August 1, 2010 12:17 pm

    LOVE love love. I don’t know a ton about art in general, but I know these are pleasing to my eyes!

  3. August 2, 2010 11:57 am

    Very cool stuff Ben. I love the color of the long painting. It’s a great contrast between the color and the black drawing of the church. It’s minimal but the colors and subject make it a bold work.

    I like the use of the bible pages as canvas on the other. The almost stenciled like churches are nice as well. I’d like to see the stenciled-ness of the church be exaggerated even more. And while the centered layout is powerful, I think a different layout could make it more interesting.

    Keep it up!

    • August 2, 2010 12:02 pm

      thanks, Matt! i like your feedback and think i’ll incorporate it next time around. thanks for your input, i know you’ve got the eye for design!

Leave a Reply

