Skip to content

The Time is Now, and the Responsibility is Ours.

October 11, 2010

She stood on stage, looked out at the crowd yesterday morning and said loudly and with great inspiration… “If not us, then who!?”

My pastor was addressing the recent national news highlight concerning the bullying of our teens, particularly those within the LGBT community. She spoke these unwavering words of support for LGBT teens from the pulpit, and the crowd was visibly stirred. Her message was loud and clear; and from the ambiance there you could tell the crowd felt as deeply about it as she did.

Her sentiment towards LGBT individuals is not a very popular one when it comes to the christian church. Most evangelical and protestant churches would much prefer that these individuals live in silence and disgust for themselves since ‘that’s not how God intended’ for them to be. So, she was absolutely spot on in her statement… If this church doesn’t step up and protect this community, then which church will? Probably none.

And that’s exactly the reason why now is the time and the responsibility is ours. The world has given little respect to homosexuals and their culture. “You’re better off staying away from them.” But judgement is to be expected in society, so the bigger issue is the one with the church instead. Specifically the institution that claims their “God is love”.

From my perspective, hope is probably the main reason that most people believe in a higher power. I surely can’t speak for them all, just the one I have experienced… I am a Christian, and I have hope. If you’re a Christian, surely you have hope. You have hope given to you by God. by God.

This is where many Christians have gotten confused. They have somehow been tricked into believing that hope was theirs to give. And so they have tried their damnest to take hope away from others. In this case, homosexuals, bisexuals, and transsexuals. Because they believe that it’s a lifestyle that you choose or that can pray your way out of, they tell the LGBT community that they are wrong. That they are sinning, and that they are headed for a hopeless damnation both in this life and after it.

For this reason, I can whole-heartedly understand how our LGBT teens feel condemned and hopeless. How when they are ‘outed’ feel like they have no reason at all to live. If this life and afterlife both contain damnation, why not just get the first one over with?! Seriously, it’s not a completely irrational decision. Life without hope is death.

But, the truth is that these human judges are flawed in their thinking. I know in my heart that the LGBT community should NOT be hopeless. Though it feels like the end of the world, those that are condemning the LGBT community are wrong. Deeply wrong, and because of the shades that they have pulled in front of their eyes, they are missing out on a community and culture by not embracing them.

I would think that Christians should know by now: Surely if God rests with anyone at all it is the broken, the outcasts, and the hopeless. Not with the arrogant and dictators of law. What about God says differently? We, as humans, have continued century after century believing that we are better than others, that we are the judges, and that we can make our own set of additional laws. But the problem with that is that we cannot put God into a box and tell him who is worthy of Him and who is not. He is NOT ours to give. Instead, let us love each individual as much as we desire to be loved in return. Then may we see that God seeks us all.

You see… that pulpit from which my pastor spoke these words of freedom, used to be a part of a Free-Will Baptist Church. But one Sunday a member brought a drum set to church. That action split the church in half and caused them to have to sell their building. My church was able to buy it and begin a ministry of loving people and bringing them together for BIGGER things than drum sets. I say this not because I have anything against certain denominations, but because I think we are splitting ourselves over drum sets when we should be loving the world. Life without hope is death, and we have to come together to focus God’s business: the business of saving lives not destroying them.

This post was inspired by my friend who first wrote on the subject in his blog here. Take a look, he has great things to say about learning from our past experiences.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. qeblog permalink
    October 14, 2010 10:35 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out. Your story of how the church split is interesting, and very common these days.

  2. October 19, 2010 10:10 am

    i would never tell a gay person how to think and neither would i tell a church person how to think. Everyone’s going to be different in some way or another and some people like apple pie and some people like binder paper. The thing that I don’t like is when every thinks they have to be a certain way for some reason. Another thing I don’t like is when a group of people bind together against another group of people. That there, that’s a not so pretty conflict of interest.

    But those are my likes and dislikes. I can’t say I’ll stand up for a group and attack the opposing side by sending an angry email or jumping to arms.

    When I was in high school I joined “The Day of Silence.” An event for LGBT where everyone would not talk for a day in remembrance of LGBT rights and deaths.

    A girl who liked me came up to me and asked me why I support it because I was at the time very religious myself. I replied by saying,

    “I don’t like it when people kill people.”

Leave a Reply

