Skip to content

Chasing Ninja Turtles

November 24, 2010

I remember running circles as fast as I could from the slightly older and bigger kids on the new playground only to have them catch up with me and try to pry the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle action figures from my little hands. I used to have a death grip on those things. I didn’t share well, much less give them up to some other kids that wouldn’t even let me borrow their Master Splinter. You see, I’ve always been bad at…

Letting go. When I care about something, I invest all of me. Maybe ninja turtles are bad example, but when it’s time to move on from a project or friend or stage of life, it often feels like I’m cutting loose part of myself. I don’t like it. And for some mistaken reason, it feels like giving up. Letting go means you’re going to have an empty hand until you find something else to grab a hold of instead. But it’s a totally different mindset from giving up. Sometimes letting go is completely necessary.

If given the choice, I’d probably choose to hang on to it all. The good. The bad. The everything that I invest in. For the fear of letting go and the fear of the unknown often keeps people hanging on for far too long. For example, it’s good that I have faith in people and invest in friendships. But it’s bad that I invest in them even when our friendships inhibit each other’s personal growth. I’ve learned. There are certain times and situations in your life, when it’s going to be best to just let go. It’s probably not going to be easy. No, it’ll be easier for you to stay in a comfortably, painful situation just because it’s familiar rather than doing what you know you need to do.

Courage is the power to let go of the familiar.  -Raymond Lindquist

We need to find the courage to say NO to the things and people that are not serving us if we want to rediscover ourselves and live our lives with authenticity. -Barbara de Angelis

You have to pull off the band-aid quickly. Separate yourself from poison in your life. It may sound rough to call someone or something that you love poison. But when you realize that it’s bringing you down and preventing personal growth, there’s no other way to describe it as well. Make a choice today to keep the positive in your life and get rid as much of the negative as is in your control. It’s not possible to rid of it all, but some it is.

When that negative addition is gone from your life, you just may experience a relief and satisfaction that you didn’t even realize you were missing. Then you’ll have time and energy to spend on people and things that invest in you and will want to share their experiences with you as well. Someone that will let you borrow their Master Splinter, because you first offered your favorite Michaelangelo to them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Taylor permalink
    November 25, 2010 1:12 am

    Oooh boy can I relate. I am the absolute worst at letting things go, especially when it comes to relationships. I never want to give up on anybody, even if they hurt me or I know they’re not right for me. It’s like I think I’m just THAT amazing, that I’ll be the person who changes them. But it doesn’t always (or EVER) work that way, and sometimes you have to know when to give up.

    Easier said than done.

  2. qeblog permalink
    November 28, 2010 2:58 pm

    You speak truth that many people can relate to. Sometimes it is easier to hold on to something, no matter how much pain and hurt, rather than nothing.

  3. November 29, 2010 5:07 pm

    This was very timely. I’m going to have to reread this later. Thanks for sharing.

  4. November 30, 2010 6:17 am

    This is so true. I felt every words you speak here. I have a lot of questions in my mind and thanks some of these questions have been answered by your well versed posts Ben,.

    I see this little phrase below the header and it made realized something I’ve done before.

    “Without passion, it’s pointless.”

    Definitely real!

  5. December 5, 2010 12:43 am

    So true, I can definitely relate. Thanks for sharing.

    Visiting from 20SB.

    Natasha

Leave a Reply

