Skip to content

Insatiable Hunger

February 1, 2011

Though some will choose to hate me. I will choose to love.
Though some will try to divide us. I will try and unite.
Though some will attempt to aggravate me. I will attempt to alleviate.

We are not each other’s enemies. But still you spend your time making war with me. I will decide not to fire back. Instead, I will sit here and pray. I will not run and hide from you. I have a far greater shield in front of me.

Though some will choose to point out where I have gone wrong,
I will choose to underline what’s good in this world.
Though some will do what they can to cause me pain,
I will do no harm to them.
Though some will spend years quarreling the matter,
I will spend my hours telling a truth.

Your bullets are made from the hardest steel and sharpest words. I used to be scared. I used to have fear. But then you fired your guns with crosshairs on my head. Your bullets, they hit me knocking me below the ground. The pain took my breath away, but your weapons lack eternal power over me. I am not here for your purpose and you couldn’t stop me from what I’ll do now.

Now I know I have nothing to be afraid of. But your fear is exactly what has kept you here. And what are you afraid of – that which you do not understand? If you truly believe what you say, then have no fear. The spirit is bigger than any man. You have nothing to fear except for yourself. And for that, you should be scared.

If only you could see. The answer rests not with the body. Nor with the angels or demons. The question is the answer: How much will you love? There’s never an end. Once you love, may you only continue. Insatiable hunger this love for one another. No threshold needed to cross into the kingdom. Only the requirement that you be love.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 10:18 pm

    Really like this. Is it a poem? I love the idea of love being something you insatiably hunger for, something you cannot get enough of. That’s so true. And I’ve felt like people have been kicking me around lately, so the whole first half really was perfect timing.

    Be love. What an awesome idea. Like we could dress up as “love” for Halloween. Love it.

    • February 1, 2011 10:29 pm

      thanks so much! it was sort of a stream of consciousness poem that I wrote yesterday. just needed to get all of the emotions out there. i’m so glad that you enjoyed it 🙂

  2. February 2, 2011 1:32 am

    Very much inspiring! I am really grateful everyday, every time I getto read your new post in your blog. Thanks for giving such wisdom in me.

Leave a Reply

